SAMWU Young Workers Congratulates Limpopo on Conclusion of RSSCs

11 October 2019

SAMWU Young Workers Congratulates Limpopo on Conclusion of RSSCs

The South African Municipal Workers’ Union (SAMWU) Young Workers’ structure congratulates Limpopo Province for having been the first province to conclude its Regional Shop Steward Councils (RSSCs) in the union.

We further congratulate the province for having have successfully elected interim young workers’ structures in all the regions. The union’s May 2019 Central Executive Committee meeting resolved that in moving towards the 12th National Congress, the union should launch young workers’ structure in line with resolutions of our federations, COSATU.

The RSSCs in Limpopo elected young workers’ structures in the regions as follows;

Far North Region

Chairperson : Maharda Mashell
Deputy Chair : Philelo Mulelo
Secretary : Nightingale Magofe

North Region

Chairperson : Hezekiel Sehlapelo
Deputy Chair : Tebogo Nthala
Secretary : Khodhani Magwira

South Region

Chairperson : Bongani Nkonyana
Deputy Chair : Bonnie Mogale
Secretary : Masego Masedi

We trust that these young workers will lead and champion the interests of young workers in the province with diligence and dedication leading up to the launch of SAMWU Young Workers provincial structure.

We are aware of the changes in the workplace and the fact that unions have not been appealing to young workers across all sectors. This obviously requires change in the attitude that unions have in organizing and recruiting young workers into their fold.

As we prepare for the 12th National Congress, we have already put forward proposals for constitutional amendments which we believe Congress will unanimously endorse thus constitutionalizing the SAMWU Young Workers structure.

Issued by SAMWU Young Workers’ Structure

Lehlogonolo Maphatsoe
National Convener
071 062 8826


Papikie Mohale
National Coordinator
073 710 0356